1,000 miles: step 59

2014-02-15 10.50.02

Though this isn’t the snow we got this week, we did get some random sprinkles

2014-02-26 11.40.29

I thought it odd that a banner for New York City could be found along Old Town Alexandria

This week can’t even be called a week, maybe two weeks wrapped in one.

I had an internship interview for the summer this past Wednesday. I’m full of anticipation for this one, because it would involve working with children of all ages and picking up new languages along the way. (Perhaps, I could learn German the fun way.) I’m learning that teaching is a skill that can be applied to people of various ages, not just my dream college-age students.

Of course, working with children is not for everyone, not every educator. Now that my private tutoring schedule has come to a settling point, I’ve had the chance to work with elementary-school-age children. Teaching is a difficult task, particularly with younger kids. Hearing “this is boring” is not easy to deal with–I’ve been there kiddo, I want to say. But coloring isn’t exactly an intellectual exercise (sadly).

My advisor once agreed with me–one of those rare times we come to agreement–that teaching children involves parenting skills. I’m not much of an authority figure, and though I’m a disciplined person, I don’t know how to bring forth discipline. I will learn, like I’m learning to assign homework and plan small lessons. I have checked schoolwork so much this week (including some online tutoring and some volunteer proofreading for friends)… It’s a wonder I’m yet sick of words.

And perhaps that’s what I love about words: they’re the healthiest sweet.

I’ve finished with all my school applications this month, which weren’t that many to begin with. I think the whole transfer process is a disgrace in terms of finances. No one tells you how much simpler and cheaper it is when you’re in high school… or maybe they do, but I was too impatient to get to senior year.

Oh, well. My diploma from Northern Virginia Community College came in the mail this week. It’s a beautiful beginning, and the story must continue.

Also, having some free time here and there has allowed me to check 2 things off from my 2014 Resolutions:

  • Shorter hair [Done!]
  • Get on an ice rink [Survived!]

2014-02-28 13.36.55

I believe, that if I don’t get a day time job soon, at least, I’ll get plenty of new experiences.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

